How do I void a transaction?

How do I void a transaction?

A void cancels an unsettled transaction. You can void only transactions that are part of an open batch. When you close the current batch, any voided transactions are not transferred to your account from the customer’s account.

Note: If you do not have an option to void a sale on the Payments Portal, the sale is part of a closed batch and you must perform a refund.

You can void a transaction immediately after running the sale on the Virtual Terminal, or by using the History page.

Void immediately after running a card sale

Step 1. Click Void Sale.

The sale-approval screen with the Void Sale button highlighted.

Step 2. Click Void Sale. The Payments Portal confirms the void was successful. 

Void a transaction from the History page

Step 1. On the toolbar, click History.

Step 2. Search for the transaction you want to void. 

Step 3. Click the transaction to display the detailed view.

Step 4. Click Void Sale.

An example transaction screen with the Void Sale button highlighted.

Step 5. Click Void Sale. The Payments Portal displays an approval that it voided the transaction.

Related articles

How do I refund a sale?
How do I search for a transaction?
How do I run a pre-authorization?
How do I run a forced sale?